Wood House

Named for Hamilton B. Wood, Class of 1910
Former home of the Zeta Psi fraternity, 1905

1039 Main Street
16,320 Sq. Ft.

Wood House, 2012

Wood House, 2012

About Wood House

Wood House, the former Zeta Psi fraternity, was built in 1905 and named for Hamilton Wood, Class of 1910, composer of many songs in the official Williams College Songbook. Purchased by the college in 1970, Wood still boasts much of the original dark oak woodwork and flooring. Though Wood is the hub house of the neighborhood and hosts many of its parties, it has enough different kinds of spaces to fit everyone’s needs. Wood has two living rooms on the first floor, a study and a kitchen. The basement has a common space used for parties and recreation space. Wood has 22 singles and four doubles. Wood is across Main Street from the Greylock Quad, close to the ’62 Center and the Science Quad. Part of the Wood Neighborhood.

Major Construction History

Date Project Cost
1905 Built
Architect: John B. Snook, Inc. (New York)
$15,000
1927 Library addition
Architect: Charles C. May
$29,858
1969 Major renovation $88,000
1999 Renovation and refurbishment
Architect: Primary Group
$1,047,897